Orlando Weekly picked Field to Feast: Recipes Celebrating Florida Farmers, Chefs, and Artisans as winner of the Best of Orlando 2013 awards in the “Best Locavore Love” category. “The coolest part about cooking up any of the Field to Feast recipes,” says Orlando Weekly, “is that you can find food (sometimes just a few hours old) from many of these farms at a bevy of Orlando markets.” For more locavore love, including gorgeous photos and recipes from farms across the state, make sure check out this popular cookbook.



Lynn Waddell’s new book, Fringe Florida: Travels among Mud Boggers, Furries, Ufologists, Nudists, and Other Lovers of Unconventional Lifestyles, is a staff pick in the 2013 Creative Loafing Tampa Bay Best of the Bay Awards. Fringe Florida is the 2013 “best journey into Florida’s underbelly.”  CL Tampa says, “Lynn Waddell … descended into the belly of the beast to see for herself” what we take for granted: “Florida is the world capital of weird.” Don’t miss out on this fascinating journey through some of Florida’s most colorful subcultures.




Congratulations to Tommy Thompson, author of The Saltwater Angler’s Guide to Tampa Bay and Southwest Florida! His book is the winner of two awards: first place in the Outdoor Book category of the Florida Outdoor Writers Association Excellence-in-Craft Competition, and second place in the Outdoor Book category of the Southeastern Outdoor Press Association Excellence-in-Craft Competition.





Communists and Perverts under the Palms: The Johns Committee in Florida, 1956-1965, by Stacy Braukman, is the winner of the 2013 Willie Lee Rose Prize awarded by the Southern Association for Women Historians. The Willie Lee Rose Prize is given to the best book in southern history authored by a woman. Stacy Braukman’s prize-winning book reveals the actions of a committee that was formed in 1956 to unearth “subversive” behavior in academic institutions throughout Florida.





The Society for Historical Archaeology  selected God’s Fields: Landscape, Religion, and Race in Moravian Wachovia, by Leland Ferguson, as winner of the 2014 James Deetz Book Award. The award honors books that are valuable to professional archaeologists and are also accessible to all potential readers. Leland Ferguson’s intriguing book uncovers the secret segregationist past of a Moravian church in North Carolina.





The Triumph of the Antebellum Free Trade Movement, by historian William Belko, has been awarded the 2013 Phi Alpha Theta Award for Best Subsequent Book. Phi Alpha Theta is a National History Honor Society whose mission is to promote the study of history through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians. William Belko’s book investigates the heated tariff debate of the late 1820s and early 1830s, which many believe played a part in the gradual separation of the northern and southern United States.



Ortiz_Vets case.inddWe’re excited to highlight a double-award-winning article from the volume Veterans’ Policies, Veterans’ Politics: New Perspectives on Veterans in the Modern United States. The article is titled “‘An Emblem of Distinction’: The Politics of Disability Entitlement, 1940-1950,” by Audra Jennings. Jennings’ article is the winner of the 2013 James Madison Prize, awarded by the Society for History in the Federal Government. The prize committee says, “Professor Jennings’ excellent piece examines how disabled veterans, veterans’ organizations, and policymakers organized and fought to expand the veterans welfare entitlements afforded to those who suffered amputations and other permanent injuries in the course of the Second World War.”

Jennings’ essay is also the winner of the 2013 Outstanding Article Award, given by the Disability History Association. The award committee describes the article as “exemplary and exceptional military history. Beautifully written and powerfully argued, Jennings’ work situates the voices and experiences of disabled people at the center of her analysis.” Audra Jennings is Director of the Office of Scholar Development and Assistant Professor of Honors Interdisciplinary Studies at Western Kentucky University.

One thought on “Recent Award Winners!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s